Official: Treasury: correspondence.

Reference code: CHAR 18/8

Part of: CHAR 18
Next record: CHAR 18/9
Previous record: CHAR 18/7

Date: 08 Jan 1925 - 26 Jun 1925


Correspondents include: Major-General Sir Fabian Ware (2); 1st Lord Cecil of Chelwood [earlier Lord Robert Cecil, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster] on European disarmament (2); Lord Eustace Percy [President of the Board of Education]; Leo Amery [Secretary of State for the Colonies] on colonial trade matters (4); Frederick Leith-Ross [British representative on Finance Board] of the Reparation Commission; J Coudurier de Chassaigne (2); 1st Lord Midleton; Wilfrid Ashley [later 1st Lord Mount Temple, Minister of Transport]; Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance, Treasury]; Austen Chamberlain [Foreign Secretary] (2); Sir William Joynson Hicks [later 1st Lord Brentford, Home Secretary] (3) including one on the relative precedence of members of the government; General 10th Lord Cavan [Chief of Imperial General Staff]; Sir Frederick Ponsonby [later 1st Lord Sysonby, Keeper of the Privy Purse]; 17th Lord Derby; Sir James Craig [later 1st Lord Craigavon, Prime Minister of Northern Ireland]; 1st Lord Balfour and 1st Lord Haldane on grants for universities; 1st Lord Stevenson; Hugh Pollock [First Minister of Finance for Ulster, Ireland]; Walter Guinness [later 1st Lord Moyne, Financial Secretary, Treasury]; Austin Earl [Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War]; "Charly" [7th Lord Londonderry, earlier Lord Castlereagh]; Vice-Admiral Sir Roger Keyes [Deputy Chief of Naval Staff] on the threat from Japan (2); Sir Arthur Steel-Maitland [Minister of Labour] (2); Albert Thomas of the International Labour Office; 6th Lord Winterton [earlier Edward Turnour, Under-Secretary of State for India] on the Benguela [Angola] railway; Sir George Barstow [Controller of Supply Services, Treasury]; 1st Lord Bledisloe [earlier Charles Bathurst, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture] on agricultural policy (3); General Sir Charles Fergusson [Governor-General of New Zealand]; 1st Lord Stamfordham [earlier Sir Arthur Bigge, Private Secretary to King George V]; Edward Grenfell [later 1st Lord St Just]; John Morgan [of J P Morgan and Company, New York]; John Gretton; Sir Arthur Durrant [Director of Lands and Accommodation, HM Office of Works]; Edward Wood [later Lord Irwin and Lord Halifax, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries]; Lord Carson; Eric Phipps [British Minister in Paris, France]; Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet]; 1st Lord Birkenhead [earlier F E Smith, Secretary of State for India].

Also includes draft and copy letters from WSC to some of those mentioned above and to Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin], Neville Chamberlain [Minister of Health], Sir Harold Bowden, King George V, Sir William Mitchell-Thomson [later 1st Lord Selsdon, Postmaster-General and Chief Civil Commissioner] and Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Ronald Water House [Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister]; Cabinet memoranda by Chamberlain on the Weir Housing Scheme, and Derby [when Secretary of State for War in November 1923] on the Somme [France] war memorial.

Other subjects include: war graves; WSC's access to information; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces, and details of Treasury expenditure; rubber restriction; matters concerning the content of the Budget, including the new insurance scheme, reverting to the Gold Standard, and death duties; French political intrigues.





Other details



Physical: 1 bound file (193 folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: