Official: Cabinet: Irish Committee.

Reference code: CHAR 22/12A-B

Part of: CHAR 22
Next record: CHAR 22/13
Previous record: CHAR 22/11

Date: 01 Mar 1922 - 29 Apr 1922


Correspondents include: 1st Lord Birkenhead [Lord Chancellor, earlier F E Smith] on the Articles of Agreement concerning the boundary between Northern Ireland and Ireland; Lieutenant-General Sir Travers Clarke [Quartermaster General] on transport, arms and ammunition for the troops in Ireland; 1st Lord Midleton [earlier St John Brodrick] on land purchase and compensation for injuries and damage (2); Sir James Craig [Prime Minister of Northern Ireland, later 1st Lord Craigavon] on troubles in Belfast [Ulster, Northern Ireland] (4); 1st Lord Fitz Alan of Derwent [Viceroy of Ireland, earlier Lord Edmund Fitzalan-Howard] on subjects including disturbances in Dublin [Ireland] and elections (10); 7th Lord Londonderry [Leader of the Senate, Government of Northern Ireland, earlier Lord Castlereagh] on the needs of the Special Constabulary (3); Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet] on the disbandment of the Royal Irish Fusiliers (2); Michael Collins on subjects including murders by the Belfast police and Sir James Craig's speech on the Restoration of Order in Ireland Act (5); General Sir Cecil Macready [General Officer Commanding in Chief of the Forces in Ireland] on the removal of troops from Limerick [Ireland] and disturbances in Dublin (6); Austen Chamberlain [Lord Privy Seal] on the boundary between Northern Ireland and Ireland, and military action (2); 1st Lord Peel [Secretary of State for India]; 5th Lord Lansdowne on the breakdown of law and order (2); Clive Wigram [Assistant Private Secretary and Equerry to George V]; 3rd Lord Oranmore and Browne [1st Lord Mereworth, earlier Geoffrey Browne]; 6th Lord Sligo [earlier Lord Altamont] Lord Lieutenant of County Mayo [Ireland], asking for transport in an emergency; 1st Lord Lee of Fareham, First Lord of the Admiralty; 1st Lord Stamfordham [Private Secretary to the King, earlier Sir Arthur Bigge]; Major General Hugh Tudor [Chief of Police, Ireland] on moving disbanded police to England (3); Admiral Sir Ernest Gaunt [Commander in Chief, Western Approaches]; Sir John Ross [Lord Chancellor, Ireland] on the position of Irish judges (2); 10th Lord Cavan [Chief of Imperial General Staff, earlier Lord Kilcoursie] on removing troops from Ireland; Sir James Masterton-Smith [Permanent Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies] on the Special Constabulary.

Other subjects include: ex-servicemen supporting Michael Collins; disturbances on the border; the Council of Ireland; steps to be taken if a Republican Government were set up; the Compensation Commission.

Also includes: a memorandum on murders by the Belfast police; a copy of the Royal Irish Constabulary Terms of Disbandment; a note on convictions for post-Truce political offences in England and Wales; a report by Vice-Admiral Sir Ernest Gaunt, Commander in Chief, Western Approaches on the looting of SS Upnor; a memorandum on barracks for the Provisional Government; a copy of the Government of Northern Ireland House of Commons Official Report on Parliamentary Debates; the report of the Deputy Inspector General of the Royal Irish Constabulary on attacks against disbanded officers.

Other details



Physical: 2 bound files (205 folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: