Political: Constituency: North West Manchester: By election defeat.

Reference code: CHAR 4/18

Part of: CHAR 4
Next record: CHAR 4/19
Previous record: CHAR 4/17

Date: Apr 1908


Letters expressing disappointment at WSC's defeat from correspondents including: George Cornwallis West; Lord Loreburn; Captain [Ronald] Kincaid-Smith; [Sir William] Ronaldson-Nicoll; H G Spicer; Lady Kitty Somerset; Frederick Verney MP; 2nd Lord Dudley; Dr J Dulberg; William Royle, Chairman of the Manchester Liberal Federation; Charles Masterman; Frederic Mackarness MP; Austin Taylor, MP; and W P Byles.

Other subjects include the Licensing Bill; WSC's popularity with the Manchester Jewish Community; the Education Bill and the Ecclesiastical Discipline Bill; Free Trade and WSC's treatment by the newspapers owned by [Alfred] Harmsworth [later Lord Northcliffe] .



Other details



Physical: 1 bound file (87 folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: