Literary: Lord Randolph Churchill.

Reference code: CHAR 8/23

Part of: CHAR 8
Next record: CHAR 8/24
Previous record: CHAR 8/22

Date: 01 Jan 1906 - 31 Jan 1906


Correspondence on "Lord Randolph Churchill", mainly letters of congratulation on publication, and thanks for complimentary copies Correspondents include Hon Sidney Greville (on behalf of King Edward VII); Lord James of Hereford; Frederick Macmillan (Macmillan & Co.); J A Spender; Charles, 9th Duke of Marlborough (3); Joseph Chamberlain; H H Asquith [later Lord Oxford and Asquith]; Lord Tweedmouth; General Sir Ian Hamilton; Thomas Shaw MP; Leonie, Lady Leslie; Field Marshal Lord Roberts; Lord Rothschild; Charles Dilke; Henry Campbell Bannerman; Lord Justice Gerald Fitzgibbon; Lord Londonderry (2); Sir Michael Hicks Beach (later Lord St Aldwyn); Lord Rosebery; Wilfred Scawen Blunt; Lord Salisbury; Sir John Dickson Poynder (later Lord Islington); Sir Squire Bancroft; Lord Killanin; Sir Arthur Godley; Lord Althorp (later 6th Lord Spencer) and John Burns MP.



Other details



Physical: 1 bound file (69 folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language:

Contained records

Reference Record Date
CHAR 8/23/6 Letter from Joseph Chamberlain (Highbury, Moor Green, Birmingham [Warwickshire]) to WSC, thanking him for a copy of his biography of Lord Randolph Churchill. Chamberlain remarks on WSC's daring at bringing the book out in the middle of an election campaign and informs him that he would enjoy reading it in whatever leisure that WSC allowed him after the election. 03 Jan 1906