Personal: Family etc: Operation for hernia: bulletins and condolences.

Reference code: CHUR 1/134

Part of: CHUR 1
Next record: CHUR 1/135
Previous record: CHUR 1/133

Date: 11 Jun 1947 - 26 Jun 1947


Includes telegrams and letters on WSC's illness and operation from individuals including: "Jimmy" 17th Duke of Alba [earlier Fitz-James Stuart]; Ava, Lady Anderson [later Ava, Lady Waverley]; Gunilla, Lady Barnes; [Arthur] Beverley Baxter, MP; [1st] Lord Beaverbrook [earlier Maxwell Aitken]; Ernest Bevin; Georges Bidault, French Foreign Minister; Rene Massigli, French Ambassador to Great Britain; Lady Violet Bonham Carter [earlier Violet Asquith and Violet, Lady Bonham Carter, later Lady Asquith of Yarnbury]; Mollie, [Margaret] Duchess of Buccleuch [earlier Margaret, Lady Dalkeith] ; Anne Chamberlain; Lord Ivor Churchill; John G Churchill and Mary Churchill; Randolph Churchill and Pamela Churchill [later Pamela Harriman]; Jane, Lady Clark; Charles Cockran; Captain Harry Crookshank; [Edward] Clement Davies MP; "Ettie", Edith, Lady Desborough; Lewis Douglas, United States Ambassador to Great Britain; Harold Edwards; Arthur Greenwood, MP; Lady Lilian Greenwood; Flora Guest; Mildred, Lady Hailsham; Sophie, Lady Hall; Sir James Hawkey; Doris Langton Hewer; George Hicks, MP; Sir Richard Hopkins; Sir Leslie Hore Belisha; Thomas Horabin; Nizam of Hyderabad; Frederick Lister and Mildred Lister; Oliver Locker-Lampson; [2nd] Lord Lyle of Westbourne; Pamela, Lady Lytton; Mackenzie King; George, 1st Lord Marchwood [earlier Frederick Penny]; Mary, Duchess of Marlborough; Sir Edward Marsh; Queen Mary; Henry [2nd Lord Melchett, earlier Henry Mond]; Hugh Molson, MP; Herbert Morrison; Sir Desmond Morton; Doris Parkinson; General George Paynter; Sir Richard Pim; Lieutenant-General Sir Henry Pownall; Hope Rhys [later Hope, Lady Dynevor]; James de Rothschild; Sir Hartley Shawcross; Emmanuel Shinwell; Kathleen, Lady Simon; Sir Edward Spears; Vice-Admiral Ernest Taylor; Sir Hugh Tudor; and Muriel Warde. Also includes statements on WSC's health issued by his doctors Thomas Dunhill, James Paterson Ross, Christopher Langton Hewer and 1st Lord Moran; lists of the individuals who telephoned with messages for WSC; and copies of letters from Elizabeth Gilliatt [secretary to WSC] and "N S" [Jo Sturdee, later Lady Onslow].

Other details



Physical: 1 file (368 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format: Folios 2 and 5: Copyright holder (Lord Moran) has withheld permission for online publication. Available on microfilm at Churchill Archives Centre.
Original Reference: Language: