Public and Political: General: Political: papers and correspondence concerning changes in Conservative Party organisation.

Reference code: CHUR 2/12

Part of: CHUR 2
Next record: CHUR 2/13
Previous record: CHUR 2/11

Date: Apr 1946 - Jun 1949


Correspondents include: Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe], Chairman of the Conservative Party [until July 1946]; Duncan Sandys; 1st Lord Woolton [earlier Frederick Marquis], Chairman, Conservative and Unionist Central Office [from July 1946]; Hugh Molson; James Thomas [later 1st Lord Cilcennin, Vice-Chairman of Conservative and Unionist Party] on the situation at constituency level; James Stuart [Chief Opposition Whip until 1948]; Patrick Buchan-Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes, Conservative Chief Whip from 1948]. Also includes copies of correspondence from WSC to some of those mentioned above and to Anthony Eden [later 1st Lord Avon] and Nigel Colman [Chairman of the Executive Committee of the National Union of Conservative and Unionist Associations].

Other subjects include: the role of the Executive Committee of the National Union.

Also includes: copies of memoranda by Sir Joseph Ball (on general elections) and Molson (on party organisation); Conservative Political Centre policy paper; copy of the Weekly News Letter; statement on proposed new policy on trade; details of constituency position in England, Wales, and Scotland; final report of the National Union Committee on party organisation.





Other details



Physical: 1 file (111 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: