Public and Political: General: Political: correspondence and papers on the meetings and work of the Empire Parliamentary Association [later the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association].

Reference code: CHUR 2/49

Part of: CHUR 2
Next record: CHUR 2/50
Previous record: CHUR 2/48A-B

Date: Oct 1945 - Mar 1950


Correspondents include: Sir George Harvie Watt; Sir Howard d'Egville, Secretary of the Empire Parliamentary Association (6); Sir Ralph Verney [Secretary to the Speaker of the House of Commons]; 1st Lord Nathan of Churt [Minister of Civil Aviation]; John Lockhart, Secretary of United Kingdom Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (3); Patrick Buchan-Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes, Conservative Chief Whip] (2). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from secretaries Elizabeth Gilliatt, Jo Sturdee ("N S") [later Lady Onslow], Chips Gemmell, and Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford].

Also includes: agendas and minutes for annual general and executive committee meetings; copies and galley proofs for reports of the executive committee, proceedings of the 1946 AGM (including speeches by WSC on Parliament, Prime Minister Clement Attlee, Chancellor of the Exchequer Hugh Dalton, R A Butler, and Secretary of State for India and for Burma 1st Lord Pethick-Lawrence), and the UK delegates' visit to Britain's West African colonies; memorandum by d'Egville.




Other details



Physical: 1 file (114 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: