Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: correspondence concerning various business.

Reference code: CHUR 3/20

Part of: CHUR 3
Next record: CHUR 3/21
Previous record: CHUR 3/19

Date: Jan 1952 - Dec 1958


Correspondents include: Sir James Hawkey, Chairman [until 1952], and W Hubert Barlow-Wheeler, Honorary Secretary and Agent, (6) of Woodford Conservative Association; Leonard Ropner, Chairman, Conservative and Unionist Films Association, on 3 dimensional propaganda films (2); Stephen Pierssene, General Director, Conservative and Unionist Central Office (3). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from: secretaries Lettice Marston (Lettice Shillingford), Grace Hamblin, S Wade, Jane Portal [later Lady Williams of Elvel], Elizabeth Gilliatt, and Anthony Montague Browne; CSC (President of Woodford Conservative Association); [Prime Minister's Private Secretaries] John Colville and Browne.

Subjects include: the opening times of the garden at Chartwell [Kent]; borough housing policy; local election results; invitations for WSC to attend local events; WSC's speech at St Barnabas School, Woodford, 6 September 1952; a proposed meeting at Debden [Essex] in July 1952; an application for House of Commons tickets; the redistribution of seats and boundary commission matters.

Also includes: lists of constituency representatives for various events and meetings; flyer for Chartwell gardens; summaries of constituency letters received, 1952-3; local government election results, 1952-3; notes by ?[John] Hare [later 1st Lord Blakenham, Vice-Chairman Conservative Party Organisation] and local committee thoughts on boundary changes; drafts of WSC's Christmas card messages for the constituency.






Other details



Physical: 1 file (112 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: