Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: Correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, A - J.

Reference code: CHUR 3/59

Part of: CHUR 3
Next record: CHUR 3/60
Previous record: CHUR 3/58A-B

Date: 06 Apr 1950 - 27 Sep 1951


Correspondents include: representatives of Woodford Conservative Association including Sir James Hawkey, Chairman (2), and Kathleen Kemp, Secretary (7); Percy Cohen, [Joint Director] Conservative Research Department (4); Anthony Phelps, Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer (2); Derek Stephen, Assistant Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War; James Webb, Assistant Principal, Board of Inland Revenue; Cyril Walker, Director of Housing and Valuer, London County Council (2); James Littlewood, Private Secretary to the Financial Secretary to the Treasury; J Goddard, constituent (4); C Hill, constituent (4). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence by Monica Graham, Lorna Cowper, "N S" [Jo Sturdee, later Lady Onslow], Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford] and Elizabeth Gilliatt, WSC's secretaries.

Subjects include: the Allotments Bill; taxation and housing enquiries; the newsprint shortage; war damage claims; invitations for WSC; leave granted to Ministry of Works staff.



Other details



Physical: 1 file (229 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: