Official: Prime Minister: lists and correspondence regarding Ministerial and Government appointments.

Reference code: CHUR 6/1A-B

Part of: CHUR 6
Next record: CHUR 6/2

Date: 13 Oct 1951 - 13 Nov 1951


Correspondents include: Patrick Buchan Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes, Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Government Chief Whip] (4), Harold Macmillan [later 1st Lord Stockton, Minister of Housing and Local Government] (2), Sir John Anderson [later 1st Lord Waverley], James Stuart [later 1st Lord Stuart of Findhorn, Secretary of State for Scotland], 5th Lord Salisbury [earlier Lord Cranborne, Leader of the House of Lords and Lord Privy Seal] (4), David Pitblado [Prime Minister's Principal Private Secretary] (5), Sir Thomas Barnes [HM Procurator-General and Treasury Solicitor], Lord Asquith of Bishopstone [earlier Cyril Asquith], 3rd Lord Selborne, Oliver Lyttelton [later 1st Lord Chandos, Secretary of State for the Colonies], Edward Cass [Prime Minister's Private Secretary], Malcolm McCorquodale MP, Walter Elliot MP, Derick Heathcoat-Amory [Minister of Pensions].

This file includes a large number of lists relating to positions in the new Conservative Government, many annotated by WSC and others. It also includes copies of minutes and letters by WSC regarding appointments.




Other details

Access: Physical: 2 files (167 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: