Official: Prime Minister: correspondence regarding Ministerial changes.

Reference code: CHUR 6/2

Part of: CHUR 6
Next record: CHUR 6/3A-C
Previous record: CHUR 6/1A-B

Date: 03 May 1952 - 01 Aug 1954


Correspondents include: John Maclay [later Lord Muirshiel] (3) on his resignation as Minister of Transport in 1952; Frederic Harris MP, Beresford Craddock MP (2), Alan Lennox-Boyd [later Lord Boyd of Merton], Roy Welensby (Chairman of unofficial members of Northern Rhodesia, later Zambia, Legislature), Angus Mackintosh (Principal Private Secretary, Colonial Office), and David Hunt [Prime Minister's Private Secretary] on removal of Alan Lennox-Boyd as Minister of State for the Colonies and appointment as Minister of Transport in 1952; Anthony Eden [later 1st Lord Avon, Foreign Secretary] (2) including letter of 30 Nov 1953 offering to resign over Sudan election; Lady Rhys Williams [earlier Juliet Glyn] on speeches by Sir Arthur Salter in Mexico; Sir Waldron Smithers praising Edward Heath; Oliver Lyttelton [later 1st Lord Chandos] (2) on resignation as Colonial Secretary; Patrick Buchan Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes, Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Government Chief Whip]; Frederick Erroll MP.

The file also includes a copy of the letter of 25 Jan 1954 from WSC to Queen Elizabeth II regarding the resignation of Oliver Lyttelton and other ministerial changes.




Other details

Access: Physical: 1 file (49 loose folios)
Publication: Alternative format:
Original Reference: Language: